County Council

Dan Roach
Dan Roach
District 1
Vice Chair

Pam Roach
District 2
Jim McCune
District 3

District 4
Exec. Pro Tem
Rick Talbert
District 5


District 6 
Derek Young
District 7
 How Do I
Contact the Council
Search Legislation
Get Council & Committee Meeting Information
Watch Live

 Latest Council News

Pierce County Council outlines 2018 policy priorities

The Pierce County Council reinforced its 2018 priorities to include a continued focus on economic development, behavioral health/homelessness, public safety, and property abatement/public nuisances.

“As we discussed our priorities for 2018, it was abundantly clear there is still a great deal to be done in these areas for those we serve,” said County Council Chair Doug Richardson.

The Council’s economic development policy emphasizes the need to build the economy by supporting businesses, promoting job growth, encouraging tourism and investing in infrastructure.

Read on...


Pierce County Council chooses leadership, committees for 2018

The seven-member Pierce County Council has elected its leadership and made assignments on Council committees and other boards and commissions.

In the Council meeting, Pierce County Councilmember Doug Richardson was re-elected Council Chair. Councilmember Dan Roach is Vice-Chair and Councilmember Connie Ladenburg is serving as Executive Pro-tempore. The chair presides at all regular Council meetings, while the Vice-Chair presides in the absence of the chair. The Executive Pro-tempore is a councilmember selected to perform some of the County Executive's duties in the event of the executive's absence or temporary disability. 

Read on...


17CB09-2m0162-HDRChambers Creek Regional Park Master Site Plan update

For more information about the plan update go to Chambers Creek Regional Master Site Plan update. For information on the Chambers Creek Resort click here.

  1. About the Council
  2. County Code & Charter
  3. Get Connected
  4. e-Newsletters
The Council is the legislative branch of Pierce County government and is the policy-determining body of the County, as provided by the County Charter. The Council has all powers of the County not otherwise reserved to the people, the Executive, or general law.

The seven members are elected from each of seven contiguous and equally populated districts. Each county councilmember represents a district having a population of approximately 115,000 people (as of the 2010 Census) and is elected to a 4 year term.

Learn More about the Pierce County Council
Council Directions

Contact Us

Phone: (253) 798-7777
Toll Free: (800) 992-2456
Fax: (253) 798-7509

Visiting the Pierce County Council?

Use the Gold Parking Lot (Validated). Learn about other available parking.